Big Things in Small Packages

Downy Woodpecker (male)- Canon T2i, f/8, 1/2500 sec, ISO 1600

Downy Woodpecker (male)- Canon T2i, f/8, 1/2500 sec, ISO 1600


Downy’s are the smallest woodpeckers in North America. They frequent our suet feeders and perch in dead trees behind our house. I have seen them with larvae and insects in their beak more times than I can count. Until today, I thought they strictly used their beaks to peck for their food. Boy was I wrong. They use their tongue to reach into the hole. I knew they had a tongue, just not one this long! I am still amazed and thrilled that I captured this behavior. I cherish moments like this and can’t wait to see what else I can discover.

2 thoughts on “Big Things in Small Packages

  1. Susan, how lucky you are to have the Downy up there. I am so envious. That is an amazing thing about the tongue. I never knew about that. I don’t know if the other species do that. What a great photograph. Congrats!

    Like

Feedback is greatly encouraged and appreciated!